Moving and deleting records

Sometimes you may find you need to delete or change records in your account which have been entered incorrectly. 

You can delete Star readings yourself, close worker accounts, mark service users as having left a service, and you can delete services to which service users have not yet been added.

For everything else, download and complete the appropriate form below and email it to the helpdesk.

There is a space at the bottom of each form where it must be authorised by the Star lead. We do not require the document to be printed out and signed - a digital copy is fine.

Important!

Once we have deleted a record from the database it will not be possible to retrieve it again. To ensure we only delete or change the records you want us to, every request must include the name and ID precisely as it's shown in the system.

This means the following must be exact:

  • The name of your organisation
  • The names of any services
  • The ID of any service users
  • The names of any of your colleagues

If any of these details do not correspond with the names of records in the system we will ask you to correct it.

Deleting services

If the 'delete service' button isn't presented on the service page (shown below), complete this form and email it to the helpdesk. 

Vieww service page 03052018

Deleting service users

To delete service users, complete this form and email it to the helpdesk.

Warning:

  • Deleting a service user will result in all Star readings associated with them also being deleted.
  • Deleting a service will result in all service users in that service and all of their Star readings being deleted too.
  • Once deleted all of these records will no longer be accessible to view or print, and will no longer appear in your reports.

Moving service users

If you wish to move a service user from one service to another please use this form.

Warning:

When moving a service user between two services which use different Stars:

  • All existing Star readings will be deleted as a result of this move
  • As the list of support needs between Stars differ we recommend that once the service users have been moved, you revisit each service users profile to select and/or confirm support needs associated with the new Star.

Changing the version of the Star selected for a service

If the system won't allow you to change the Star selected for a service please use this form

Warning:

  • All existing Star readings at the service will be deleted as a result of this change
  • As the list of support needs between Stars differ we recommend that once the Star for the service has been changed you revisit each service users profile to select and/or confirm support needs associated with the new Star.

Deleting Star readings

You can delete Star readings yourself from within the Star Online.

Changing Star readings

Some details of a complete Star reading can be edited. You can find out how to edit Star readings here. In general the scores cannot be altered once the Star reading is submitted. This is to protect the reliability of your data. If you find that you do need to change the scores of a Star reading - you will need to delete it and re-enter it.

You can find out how to delete Stars here. You may find it useful to use the Quick Star method when re-entering Star readings.

Last updated by Ruth Timmins on 20th February 2019